Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 98

Thread: alamo lists and jive talk

  1. #31
    Crazy goat
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    376
    Did they post scores?
    This is the grand Goatboy from BOLS. I paint and do other things - click on the links to find adventure and magic or some nonsense!
    Blog!
    Full of Monkey Painting
    Art Stuff!!!

  2. #32
    Senior Member CRP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    4,280
    Quote Originally Posted by Goatboy View Post
    Did they post scores?
    Not yet.
    "Don't take my win from me! I don't have many to claim!"
    -Dandy

  3. #33
    Senior Member rand0mnumb3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,015
    Quote Originally Posted by CRP View Post
    Matt, the Red Star guys are saying that they were at the table on turn 2 and that the ruling was made real time. That doesn't explain why the scores were changed.


    https://www.facebook.com/groups/3368...64023490028876
    Absolute lie.

    They weren't around until the start of 4 where my opponent was all but tabled and had already conceded 0-20.

    If they are actually going to make up facts after the fact so they don't look bad they can go **** themselves.
    I Noodlers, solemnly swear not to buy any new or used models until I have completed the following

    Painted my Chaos Space Marines, Dark Angels, and Imperial Guard to a tournament standard

  4. #34
    Fashionably Late daKing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2,375
    Wow I think we are going to need to hear the whole story because some of us were slumming it on the middle tables and never wondered over to the top ones for the drama
    Wrecking Crew Member

    I would punch his baby in the face! thats how i roll! ask around, it happens! ~spines

  5. #35
    Senior Member rand0mnumb3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,015
    Quote Originally Posted by daKing View Post
    Wow I think we are going to need to hear the whole story because some of us were slumming it on the middle tables and never wondered over to the top ones for the drama
    here is the the story.

    On turn 1 I deployed 3 units and said "the rest of my army is coming in on turn 2 if you don't table me". (My only mistake was that I never declared how)

    Turn 2 comes around and I start deep striking everyone with deep strike. My opponent was caught a bit off guard because he didn't realize I was going to deep strike everything. My fault there, so I apologized and told him I meant to deep strike everything but I can come in from reserves if he wanted to. He said it was fine to deep strike everything just remember next time with no arguments. Simple mistake, simple apology, simple resolution, no problems. Nothing special.

    The problem started when in his turn 4 when my opponent realized I had gained the upper hand and was going to win and decided to just concede 0-20(it wasn't even close), and after conceding he expressed that things might have gone differently and was a bit salty about it but at the same time accepted his loss. That is of course when a random judge came around and overheard and asked if their was an issue, and we explained the issue and after dicussing it amonst themselves they decided to instead give my opponent the win instead and all 20 points and me 0. (THey eventually went wit 10-10 his victory after a long conversation). It doesn't help at all my opponent never even argued that he deserved anything because even he knew how badly he got beaten. The reserves/deep strike difference barely even mattered because everything would have been in the same positions regardless of how they came on outside of 2-3 inconsequential units.

    So instead of me going 96/100 battle points and Best General I get dropped to 86/100 and dropped out of first, while my opponent goes on to get best overall with his extra 10 points and walking away with ridiculous prize support etc. (So Goatboy should have also actually been Best Overall most likely, but he got cheated out of it without realizing it)

    I've had games/points/tournaments lost before because of poor judge rulings on rules and such before, but I've never had a judge completely null and void a completed game after the game was over and just hand out VPs as they see fit. The fact it changes the first placings in two different categories just makes it so much worse.
    Last edited by rand0mnumb3r; 05-23-2016 at 02:38 PM.
    I Noodlers, solemnly swear not to buy any new or used models until I have completed the following

    Painted my Chaos Space Marines, Dark Angels, and Imperial Guard to a tournament standard

  6. #36
    Wow, that's crazy. I've never heard of a judge inserting themselves into a situation that had already been resolved without either player asking for it...
    Last edited by The Dude; 05-23-2016 at 03:03 PM.
    Unbowed, Unbent, Unbroken

  7. #37
    Senior Member Caldera02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3,449
    I'm stirring the pot for you on FB :P ****ers
    Wargamescon 40k Judge
    caldera40k.blogspot.com
    Hogleg - "only in my head someone bought CRP's OOP Wraithlord then stuck its toe in cover."

  8. #38
    Senior Member Caldera02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3,449
    Quote Originally Posted by The Dude View Post
    Wow, that's crazy. I've never heard of a judge inserting themselves into a situation that had already been resolved without either player asking for it...
    Yea the bat **** crazy part is that one of the guys on FB is claiming the judges came over during the second turn and made the decision. so.....someone is lying.
    Wargamescon 40k Judge
    caldera40k.blogspot.com
    Hogleg - "only in my head someone bought CRP's OOP Wraithlord then stuck its toe in cover."

  9. #39
    Crazy goat
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    376
    Meh - his paint was high so who knows. I also could have won the game itself and went 5-0 as well - but meh. SHould have put all my dice to summon screamers. He got lucky with Farsite too - but hey those are dice and how I got past nick was nutty too.
    This is the grand Goatboy from BOLS. I paint and do other things - click on the links to find adventure and magic or some nonsense!
    Blog!
    Full of Monkey Painting
    Art Stuff!!!

  10. #40
    Hedgefund (Admin) Darkwynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1,684
    Quote Originally Posted by The Dude View Post
    Wow, that's crazy. I've never heard of a judge inserting themselves into a situation that had already been resolved without either player asking for it...

    I have heard like 5 different stories with multiple perspectives. Who really knows what happened or what was communicated at this point. Lots of emotion involved that is for sure.

    Seems like reasonable answer here :

    https://www.facebook.com/groups/3368...63927411719963

    Makes sense and kind of sheds light on the whole situation. Multiple people at fault is what it comes down too.
    Last edited by Darkwynn; 05-23-2016 at 03:33 PM.
    Stony said...

    After reading this I have decided that the movie "Pineaple Express" should redo one of its quotes from:

    "But if you do something heroic then you'll come back as like an eagle or a dragon, or Jude Law."

    To:

    "But if you do something heroic then you'll come back as like an eagle or a dragon, or Nick Rose."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •